Become a Member

About the IATC

Iowa Association of Track Coaches

The IATC began in it's infancy in 1969 with one of Iowa's best known Track & Field Coaches, Bill Bergan.  Bill was the Track & Field coach at Columbus High School in Waterloo at that time.  He talked with the great Kansas University and Drake University coach Bill Easton and Shawnee Mission's famed coach, Merlin Gish, about how Kansas had organized the Kansas Track Coaches Association.  From those early conversations the ground work was layed.  Bill called upon Hall of Fame Coach Fred Shadle of Osage to discuss and help organize Iowa's Track coaches.  Yes, the legand is true, the IATC was formed in Bill Bergan's basement.

Bill was asked to be the first President and the IATC was born.  The IATC has been blessed with outstanding leaders and because of that leadership the IATC offers coaches, athletes and fans opportunities in athletic competition,  recognition of outstanding accomplishments, coaching assistance and  information to make the Cross Country and Track & Field experience, special.

Steve Roth
TONeill Rod Smith
Steve Roth
Mike Jay
Tim O'Neill
2nd VP
Rod Smith

Past Presidents

Bill Bergan - Waterloo
Fred Shadle - Osage
Dave Long - Mason City
John Sletten - Ames
Chuck Van Hecke - Denison
LaVerne Kloster - Dubuque
Vince Hurley - Blakesburg
Kent Wessely - Eldora
Dale Clefisch - Sheldon
Robert Lee - N.U.High-CFalls
Phil Hummel - Woodbine
Larry Parker - Neveda
Steve Carter - Indianola
John Raffensperger - IC High
Dean Clasen - Humboldt
Bruce Henderson - Atlantic
Dick Washburn - Muscatine
Tim Thomas - Galva-Holstein
June Wilden - Clinton
Tony Bussan - Webster City
Al Neppl - Ankeny
Kirk Scmaltz - Ames
Marty Thomae - Benton Community

IATC Constitution Link